agingerwithaseoul:

I hadn’t seen any English reports on this but its too good not to share.

So right now there are pretty crazy right-wing nationalist sexists in Japan. They’re dressing up in WWII military outfits, they’re standing outside of Korean schools (in Japan) shouting that Koreans should be killed, and just generally being horrible human beings. For reasons unknown, the Japanese police haven’t done anything to stop them, and when people get physical with the right-wingers and a fight breaks out, it’s not the right-wing people who get punished.

Enter: the Yakuza.

Yakuza, for those who don’t know, is the name for the world of Japanese gangs, commonly known for being covered in tattoos. A few retired yakuza members (most of whom are notoriously and vocally conservative) got tired of this extreme right wing BS. They believe that picking on people who are weaker than you, like the children at the Korean schools or refugees, is embarrassing, and not something to be proud of. They want these right wingers to man up (the group is almost entirely men) and shut up.

These old retired yakuzas start showing up at the right wing protests and intimidate the hell out of these guys. When they feel like it, they’ll use physical force too. The police don’t mess with the yakuza so these right wing protesters become human punching bags. All their talk of killing Koreans or their superiority to just about everyone flies out the window when these gangsters roll up.

It started with only one or two yakuza who were bored and fed up, but more and more started to come. They started training in boxing and street fighting, and wouldn’t you know it…the number of right wing protesters got less and less.

Then, people of other walks of life joined in too. With the yakuza throwing the police off, professors could join by writing about the issues profusely. Suddenly a ton of otakus joined too, using their art and community to protest. They’d show up in droves and stand behind the muscle (yakuza) and make a ton of noise. They literally staged an “otakus against racists” rally.

Slowly, the protests have seen the right wing attendance drop more and more and I am living for these “manly men” being trashed by retired gangsters and fans of Love Live.

In conclusion:

First, I’d like the extreme right wing to gtfo

Second, I’d like a manga, then an anime, about these yakuza who befriended professors and otakus to fight neo-nazis. K? cool. 

thesociologicalcinema:

Happy Halloween! Be Trick-or-treaters, not cultural misappropriators.

The Sociological Cinema was recently asked whether it would be racist to dress up as a Pocahontas this Halloween. The short answer is yes, dressing up like Pocahontas, or a person of any other racial minority, for Halloween is racist.

Here’s why: racism is the prejudice and discrimination that creates or reinforces a hierarchical system based on race. Empirical observations reveal that in the U.S. (and in many other countries) whites hold the lion’s share of power and resources, and a broad range of institutions operate to maintain this system of white supremacy. A racist behavior is one which contributes to preserving and reinforcing the white supremacist status quo, and dressing up like Pocahontas does precisely this.

Pocahontas was a real person; she is an ancestor of a People who are alive and vital today, despite being subjected to the genocidal practices of European settlers. Yet her contemporary image is little more than a white fantasy. Common depictions of her comport with white standards of beauty, she is routinely sexualized, and the clothing she is imagined to have worn is as inconsistent as the number of companies who have attempted to profit off her likeness.

By wearing Pocahontas as a costume, you play a part in racially fetishizing her image, and in your own way, you reassert the idea that the symbolic representations of historically marginalized groups exist for people to manipulate, or colonize, for amusement. Your Pocahontas costume is a subtle, yet powerful, pronouncement that Native People neither control the representations of themselves nor those of their ancestors; but costume-making companies and their customers do. When you buy the Pocahontas costume—when you wear the costume—you recreate the divide between those who control the representations of themselves and those whose representations are controlled. In short, you reinforce a part of that hierarchical system based on race, and that is the definition of racist behavior.

I didn’t take a picture, but while I was finding stuff to make a costume, I found a super revealing maid costume in the teen section. Because, you know, every 13 year old wants to be a sexy maid. I obviously passed on that and got a hot dog hat.

fucknosexistcostumes:

That reminds me of this…

image

French Maid Child Costume [x]
“French Maid Child Costume includes cute Dress with Attached Ruffles, Matching Apron, Pink Head Ruffle, and Choker. Your child can dust all the dust bunnies in this adorable French Maid child costume. This hot girl costume is new from our tween collection.”

feministfront:

principleeleven:

toopunktogiveafuck:

rootbeersweetheart:

fucknosexistcostumes:

Here’s Proof That Tween Girl Halloween Costumes Are Way Too Sexed-Up [x]

This is starting to worry me.

Don’t forget that these are Tweens. They aren’t teens or adults. They’re 9-12 year olds. These are kids that are still in elementary school. A good majority of them haven’t even hit puberty yet. If that doesn’t bother you, There’s a problem.

This is gross 

so gross. so scary.

katzedecimal:

titenoute:

hiddlesherethereeverywhere:

pr1nceshawn:

Tips That Can Save Your Kid’s Life.

THIS IS IMPORTANT 

When I was a child, from the time I was about four and could understand things, my mom told me and my brother that we should have a secret word. That way, if we were ever in trouble or felt unsafe and we didn’t want the people around us to know we needed her to come get us, we could let her know. So she let us pick the word and my brother and I chose the phrase “peanut butter cups.” (I’m happy to share the phrase now since both my brother and I are adults now). 

I used the phrase twice in my life. Once, I was at a friends house when I eight years old. Her dad got really drunk and was throwing things against the wall. I was really scared and I didn’t want to draw attention to myself on the phone when I called my mom to come get me because I didn’t know if he would get more violent if I asked her to come get me. So I called her and was calm and after a couple minutes I asked “Hey mommy, did you get me those peanut butter cups from the store?” And she said “I’ll be right there.” And she came and got me within minutes. 

Second, I was a teenager spending the night at a friends house. Her brother and dad were drinking and they started talking about things that made me uncomfortable – ie: what they liked to do to women. My friend didn’t seem perturbed and said that was normal for them and that I shouldn’t worry. But I was worried because they were really drunk and I was 15 and the only ‘woman’ around that wasn’t related to them. I went in my friends room, told her I needed to call my mom and say goodnight. Before I hung up with her I asked “Next time we go to the store, can we get some peanut butters cups? I’ve been craving them.” And she came and got me, just like that. 

Two incidents, one as a young child, one years later as a teen. Don’t discredit this stuff, it fucking works. My brother used it a few times too. Let your child pick the word and no never, ever, ever, ever get mad at them for using it no matter what it is. 

DO NOT SCROLL PAST THAT.

And if your child does tell you, for gods sakes BELIEVE THEM!!!!!!!!

ishipphanaf:

king-in-yellow:

hopephd:

Seizure First Aid. 

Learn it. Share it. Know it. Use it. 

100% correct medical information on tumblr for once; also consider calling 911 if you don’t know how often the person has seizures and ESPECIALLY if the seizure has lasted 5 minutes or more (which is why the watch is critical)

I have epilepsy so making sure the word is out on how to help people who do have seizures means a lot to me.