hot take: hrt, gender therapy and trans surgeries should be free
if cis people don’t have to pay to have a body that doesn’t make them dysphoric, neither should trans people
So by that logic does that mean that I should get anti-depressants and all the other pills for my mental issues for free because the people who don’t suffer from them don’t have to pay to have them?
yes
And does that mean that corrective lenses should also be free, because people with good vision don’t need to pay to see clearly, and that devices to aid in mobility for people with limited mobility (from crutches to (practical) canes to wheelchairs to prosthetics) should also be free, because people who don’t have limited mobility don’t need to pay for them?
yes? why does everyone in the notes keep trying to come up with gotchas lmao everything to do with healthcare should be free
Then by that logic, healthy food and clean water should be free because without food and water we will die. Also, without water, hygiene will be minimal therefore increasing the chances of disease.
Yes. People should have access to a healthy happy life and the whole point of a society is to support eachother and work together. how brainwashed by capitalism are you to think food and water shouldn’t be free in an ideal world.
this post is such a wild ride every time. ‘so by this logic, people should have free access to the things they need to live and survive?????????’ like yes bitch, all of it !!!
Black lightening isn’t the “social justice” show white
people want. That’s why it isn’t as well known or well receptive as other shows
with white lgbt+ or white super heroes. That’s why the fandom isn’t big,
that’s why these characters don’t have audiences and fics written for them, and
gif sets. Or better yet, that’s why you don’t see that support from white fans.
Black lightening deals with topics like drug wars, gun
violence, gangbanging, police brutality, black on black crime, communities ravaged by all these things—black
communities. That makes white people uncomfortable. It’s not their typical walk
in the park social justice—it isn’t white liberal social justice. Not your
typical tumblr white feminism that is sadly reflective of todays the feminism
And the fact that to many people, the issues in black
lightening are a reality also sits
uncomfortable with a lot of white viewers. Because they cannot fathom the fact
that people, black ppl, even here on tumblr have to deal with it.
So they stay away from black lightening. Cry about wanting
lgbt+ rep, especially wlw rep but sleep on a dark skin black lesbian (and her bi gf who
is Asian). They’d rather go to something with white social justice, white
liberal feminism, verses a hard dose of social justice that gives an even
deeper of racism and injustice in black communities.
That’s why black lightening is well known, and why white viewers
turn away from it.
I used to have geese so here’s a tip for everyone:
If a goose is attacking you, don’t run. No matter what, stand your ground. They can fly but when they’re mad, they don’t usually try to fly. Hold your hands in front of you, ready to grasp. When the goose gets close, grab it by the neck bit closest to the head and squeeze. Not tight enough to choke the goose, but tight enough so they can’t break free. You can hold them until they calm down or just do the next step right away. The next step is literally just to chuck them as far as possible and run for your life. It makes the goose know you’re in charge and you have a better chance of getting away. Trust me I’ve done this so many times that I’ve lost count
I can’t tell if this is a shitpost or actual advice. But I do know geese are the fucking worst.
Launch water balloons across the site at the portable toilet when someone was using it.
Back the work vehicle up against the door of the portable toilet to trap someone inside.
“Gently” tap the crew vehicle in front of them with the bumper of their vehicle.
Discreetly vomit in the bushes due to hangover.
Intentionally run over roadkill while laughing maniacally.
“Moon” the work camera.
Topless Day
Throw a co-worker into the bog of water-screening run-off sludge.
Flint-knap right next to a test unit.
Chase one another around with a dildo they found (and then bag it as an “artifact” and send it back to the lab).
Draw a smiley face on their hardhat in their own blood.
Write off a shovel probe because there was a horse standing on the spot that wouldn’t move.
Yell out, “I peed on a snake! :D”
Have a shovel fight.
I can’t help but imagine some hapless screenwriter who has been slogging along and hates their script, and reads this, and suddenly trashes the old script and starts working on an archaeology rom-com because what they just read was the written version of an epic trailer for just such a film.
Yes. Good. Go do it.
For the record, I’ve heard second-hand stories about archaeologists doing many much worse and/or more disgusting things than this, and I’ve seen them do way worse things off the clock.
These kinds of shenanigans tend to be symptomatic of larger crews and longer projects. The more archaeologists you put together in one place for the greater span of time, the worse their behavior gets. We are a bad influence on each other.
Can confirm about the “long periods of time” bit. When I started my job everyone was relatively professional, but there was jokes and stuff.
6 months in to the year and a half project things started to devolve and we’re saying shit like “can we not talk about cannibalism again” and “stop changing the desktops backgrounds to weird Nicolas Cage photoshops”
Every archeologist I’ve ever known has been a bit…off. theres something about the field that makes people weird.
It’s because we are all giant nerds who spend way too much of our time in remote locations, in the company of other archaeologists, and with few responsibilities (if we are living on the road). We tend to forget about social norms. We are a terrible influence on each other.